What is it?
How does it work?
What's on offer?
Please watch the video and read on for details.
You can also jump straight my Patreon page to see more and subscribe.
What is Patreon?
Patreon is a great platform for creators and artist to share exclusive content, and allows for a much deeper level of connection, interaction and sharing with students, followers and fans.
In my case, Patrons set up a monthly subscription, there are various tiers of subscription. In return you get access to exclusive content. In my case largely video tutorials (both long and short), quick tips videos, time-lapse and real time painting and behind the scenes insights. As well as plenty of question answering and interaction for those that want it.
"Patreon not only allows me to teach and share with a wider audience, it also allows me to bring you along on my creative journey!"
I have tiers ranging from $1 a month to $125 a month. The tier you choose dictates the level of access you have to the content (more details on these below) Once you have subscribed and "pledged" you then have access to all your content, and all future content at that tier.
Don't forget you can unsubscribe at any time!
Why is it in dollars?
Patreon is an American based side. It is 100% secure and safe, and is used world wide. When I first launched my Patreon Channel you could only have it in American Dollars. Nowadays you can set it up in GBP and Euros, but I cannot now change this as mine was set to dollars when I launched, and that was the only option then.
The amount you are billed is the tier amount, plus V.A.T., and is based on the USD exchange rate with your relevant currency at the time.
How does the billing work?
When you subscribe and make your pledge you will be billed immediately and as a result will have istant access to all the relevant content at you tier.
After this you will then be billed on the 1st of every month, for the upcoming month.
What about moving up and down tiers and unsubscribing. How does that work with the billing?
So if you unsubscribe you next payment on the 1st of the next month will be cancelled and you no longer access to the content at the point. You will not be refunded anything for the remainder of the current month, however the current month will have been fully paid for hence you still of full access to all previous and future content until the 1st of the next month.
If you move up a tier you will be billed immediately, and then billed the new amount on the 1st of the next month. For example if you go up from $5 to $10 on the 15th of March. We will immediately be billed an extra $5, plus VAT. You have immediate access to content at your new tier and will be billed the full $10 from the 1st of April onwards.
If you drop down a tier, there is no refund for that month, but you will still have access to all relevant content until the 1st of the next month, when you will be billed you new lower amount.
Phew!...hope that makes sense.